The Owl Pages Forum Forum Index The Owl Pages Forum
Discussion about Owls

Recent PostsRecent Posts   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
owl techniques

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Owl Pages Forum Forum Index -> Biology and Research
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bubo

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: owl techniques Reply with quote

the stock piling thread made me think of other techniques that owls use. Does anyone know of things that owls do or use as tools or ways to make things easier for themselves. i'm not too good with wording or getting my point across so i will give you an example of what i mean Very Happy

The burrowing owl brings dung home and leave it there to attract the beetles which are highly rated on the menu by these owls. I think that is really intelligent. I also like the other story in the previous thread about leaving food to eat the maggots forming!!!

cant wait to hear more.

bubo
gustavo

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thatīs a nice question Bubo !!!!!!

I was thinking, and i ask myself : Do they hunt as a group, or they always hunt alone ?

Very Happy Very Happy
bubo

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have never heard of owls hunting together it is a very lone thing!! they dont really take prey large enough for hunting together.
Very Happy
owllady

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

great stuff bubo:) this is where i like to learn more. i can say we here in scotland havnt seen anymore then one owl at any time which indicates they dont hunt in a pack although there may be some that do in other countries.