The Owl Pages Forum Forum Index The Owl Pages Forum
Discussion about Owls

Recent PostsRecent Posts   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Owls in Austin, Texas

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Owl Pages Forum Forum Index -> Welcome & Test Posts
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Katze

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:48 pm    Post subject: Owls in Austin, Texas Reply with quote

Hi! I'm new to this grand site, and am so impressed with all the wonderful information you provide. Thank you!

I live in Austin, Texas. My husband and I are fascinated by the deep, resonant "hoots" we hear (usually each fall) between 10:30 and midnight. Found it intriguing enough to 'Google' owl sounds. After listening to the sounds on this site--and others, I suspect the sounds we're hearing come from a Great Horned Owl.

Do GH owls commonly migrate through (or live in) Central Texas?

A neighbor has seen the owls once or twice-- on rooftops and once a fence ledge. He described them as enormous; said they looked capable of carrying off a small cat.

I'm new to all this... I would love to spot one of these owls but have had no luck so far. Any hints are welcome! Very Happy
theowlette

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, great horned owls are common in your area. They will stick to where there is prey, but return to the same general area each year during nesting season. They are quite large, and are more than capable of carrying away a cat (or a small dog, even), so if you have pets, don't let them out of your sight during the evenings! GHO will live where they find food. I've seen them near canyons and in forests. I don't know Austin well, but they are pretty adaptable to their environment as long as there is prey.